Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PC piracy is as high as 1:20, says Crytek

Mon 30 Jun 2008 7:43am GMT / 3:43am EDT / 12:43am PDT
Development

Yerli brands the PC games industry as the "most intensely pirated market" following lacklustre Crysis sales

The ratio of legal sales to illegal piracy of high profile PC titles could be as much as one to 20, according to Crytek's CEO Cevat Yerli.

During an interview with IGN, Yerli sought to explain what he saw as the reasons for Crytek's title Crysis' lacklustre sales, blaming lower than expected reviews and poor marketing decisions but placing most of the emphasis on PC piracy.

"The PC industry is really, at the moment, I would say the most intensely pirated market ever. It's crazy how the ratio between sales to piracy is probably 1 to 15 to 1 to 20 right now," Yerli said.

"For one sale there are 15 to 20 pirates and pirate versions, and that's a big shame for the PC industry. I hope with Warhead I hope we improve the situation, but at the same time it may have an impact on [our] PC exclusivity in the future."

This mirrors Yerli's comments earlier this year, in which he said Crytek led the charts in piracy and would no longer make PC-exclusive titles.

2 Comments

Peter Law QA Developer, unit9

42 2 0.0
I think with Crysis, a lot of people were put off because of it's high system requirements and up until recently was still 34.99 (which is rather expensive for a ~8 month old game)

Posted:6 years ago

#1
"Could be"... "Probably"...

Maybe the headline shouldn't say that it "is" as high as 1:20

Posted:6 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now