Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Pachter questions Chart-Track's Modern Warfare 2 sales data

Thu 12 Nov 2009 8:57am GMT / 3:57am EST / 12:57am PST
BusinessPublishing

Wedbush analyst estimates 4-5 million global sales on day one

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

GfK Chart-Track

ĎChart-Track Ltdí took over Gallupís chart contracts in March 1996. The company was formed by the ex-Gallup...

chart-track.co.uk

Wedbush Morgan analyst Michael Pachter is doubtful that Chart-Track's Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 sales figures are correct, and that the game did not sell 1.23 million units on its first day.

He was speaking following estimates that the game sold seven million units worldwide on day one Ė a number arrived at by Broadpoint AMTech analyst Ben Schachter, who used the Chart-Track figures to extrapolate global sales numbers.

"Seven million is therefore a very reasonable estimate, if we accept that the UK figure is accurate. My guess is that itís not," Pachter told VG247.

"I donít know how anyone could aggregate UK sales that fast. Iíd say itís far more likely that the game sold no more than 5 million on day one (my bias is 4 million), and that it wonít hit 7 million until the end of the weekend," he said.

"However, you canít argue with 'facts' such as Chart-Track reports of first day sales. I have a feeling that the figure includes all pre-orders, but not necessarily those units actually picked up on day one."

GfK Chart-Track and ELSPA announced the UK sales figures yesterday, stating that the game grossed around GBP 47 million on its first day on sale, beating the previous day-one record holder GTAIV, which sold an estimated 631,000 units and grossed GBP 27.2 million.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now