Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Over 160 games for the iPhone, reveals Jobs

Thu 10 Jul 2008 10:55am GMT / 6:55am EDT / 3:55am PDT
Mobile

The phone's new App Store will have 500 downloadable applications, one third of which will be games

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

Steve Jobs, Apple's CEO, has revealed that over 160 games will be available to download for the iPhone upon launch of the devices App Store, in a phone call with the New York Times.

In total 500 applications will be available when the store launches in the US today, 25 per cent of which will be free, 90 per cent will be sold for less than USD 9.99 and one third of the applications will be games.

Jobs also revealed that that Apple doesn't plan to make much money off of the applications, including games, by giving developers a 70 per cent cut of the sales.

"We are not trying to be business partners," said Jobs.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now