Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Over 13,000 iPhone games on App Store

Tue 07 Jul 2009 8:57am GMT / 4:57am EDT / 1:57am PDT
Mobile

Paid for games account for over 77 per cent of titles on offer

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

Apple's App Store now features over 13,000 games for the iPhone, accounting for over 20 per cent of applications on offer for the handset.

At the time of writing, free titles account for 22.6 per cent of games on offer, with paid for games making up the majority 77.4 per cent, according to Mobclix.

The largest genre is for puzzle games, accounting for 16.4 per cent of games, followed by action and arcade titles, which make up 11.2 per cent and 11.1 per cent respectively.

The number of games available has more than doubled since March this year, when there were over 6000 games on the service.

The most popular free title at the time of writing on the App Store is iHandgun, while Hero of Sparta by Gameloft is the most popular paid for game.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now