Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Orange: 650,000 game downloads in 3 months

Thu 08 Apr 2010 10:48am GMT / 6:48am EDT / 3:48am PDT
Mobile

Mobile phone operator releases statistics on game and social network usage

UK customers have downloaded almost 650,000 games in three months from Orange, according to mobile phone operator, part of the France Telecom Group.

The sixth Orange Digital Media Index (ODMI) report analyses the behaviour of the company's 17.4 million UK customers, revealing statistics such as Sunday being the most popular day to download videogames.

The report found that mobile gaming was enjoyed by both genders, with men preferring time-related challenges such as Tetris and women more strategic titles, with examples give as Monopoly and The Sims.

Over 5.34 million customers now use Orange 3G mobile handsets and/or dongles, with over 435,000 gigabytes of data being used every month.

In terms of social networking a total of 2 million Orange customers now use their handsets to view sites such as Facebook and Twitter.

Men were found to spend more time than women on social networks, accounting for 64 per cent of unique users and viewing 33 per cent more pages than women overall.

Saturday has proven to be the most popular day of use for mobile Internet access, driven by sports news updates. Sport was also the most popular TV content accessed on a mobile phone, accounting for 50 per cent of usage.

Women continue to be the heaviest users of SMS messaging though, with an average of 63 million texts sent every day.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now