Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Optimus finalises CD Projekt takeover

Fri 23 Oct 2009 9:12am GMT / 5:12am EDT / 2:12am PDT
Business

Tech firm signs contracts for acquisition of The Witcher developer

Polish PC company Optimus has successfully concluded its acquisition of CDP Investment, the holding company which covers The Witcher developer CD Projekt, GOG.com (Good Old Games), CDP Publishing, CDP Red, Metro and Porting House.

The takeover was first revealed in early October and is now valued at USD 23 million (GBP 14 million).

As a result of the acquisition the owners of CDP Investment will retain control of the CD Projekt Group, while gaining control of Optimus by acquiring 50 per cent of the listed company's shares.

"This transaction represents the full realisation of the strategic goals that CD Projekt’s owners set for themselves," said CDP Investment stockholder Adam Kiciński.

"Above all, we will become a publicly listed company, which denotes access to capital. That in turn will spur further company growth. The immediate financing we obtained through the deal will allow us to pursue our operational goals in troubled times."

"We have gained all this while retaining control of the business, which was essential to us. The added spice of the contract is that we are merging with a corporation that, like CD Projekt, has been at the center of the Polish computer market throughout its history,” added Kiciński.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now