Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

NXE loses Sony Netflix titles

Wed 19 Nov 2008 9:37am GMT / 4:37am EST / 1:37am PST
Business

Previous movies offered through the streaming service now restricted from the Xbox 360

Hundreds of titles from Sony Pictures Entertainment made previously available to stream via Netflix on Xbox Live have been withdrawn.

The movie titles have only been restricted on the Xbox 360 and are still available on PC, Mac and other Netflix compatible devices.

"In the case of Xbox 360, a few hundred titles are temporarily unavailable to be streamed via the Xbox game console," Netflix's VP of corporate communications Steve Swasey told MTV. "Those titles are still available to be watched on subscribers' computers and on TVs via other partner devices, and we hope they'll be licensed for Xbox 360 shortly."

"As watching instantly becomes a more prominent part of the Netflix service, our goal is to have all of our streaming content licensed for all of our partner devices," he said.

"We're doing well in this area, but it will take some time before we fully achieve that goal. Today, titles regularly come in and out of license and there is a natural ebb and flow to what we have on license at any given point in time."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now