Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

NPD: Xbox 360 leads in year-to-date growth

Fri 13 Nov 2009 7:57am GMT / 2:57am EST / 11:57pm PST
RetailHardware

Year-to-date shows 7 per cent rise; 2 million simultaneous users on Xbox Live during MW2 launch

Microsoft has released a statement in reaction to the NPD Group's US videogame industry sales results for the month of October, boasting that its Xbox 360 console is the hardware leader in year-over-year unit sales growth.

According to the statement, the 250,000 Xbox 360 units sold in October contributed to a 7 per cent increase in year-over-year sales for the January through October period.

"Xbox 360 remains the only console showing year-to-date growth, and consumers spent USD 289 million on Xbox 360 hardware, software and accessories in October, more than any other platform."

Microsoft also revealed that over 2 million users were simultaneously logged on to its Xbox Live service during the launch of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, which is a new record for the service.

The company is also claiming that third-party software for the Xbox 360 - led by NBA 2K10, Borderlands, FIFA Soccer 10, and Brutal Legend - generated USD 151 million for the month, more than any other system.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now