Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

NPD reaction: DSi launch sets new April hardware record

Fri 15 May 2009 7:21am GMT / 3:21am EDT / 12:21am PDT
RetailPublishing

Nintendo pleased with "continued strong consumer preference for quality and value"

Nintendo's DS sales in April set a new hardware record for the US, as the launch of the DSi prompted consumers to snap up 827,000 of the new consoles. That combined with 215,000 DS Lite sales to total 1.04 million units, taking the lifetime total in the country to over 30 million.

Meanwhile the Wii, which sold over 340,000 units, it's on the verge of breaking the 20 million unit mark, while the company also dominated the top four software sales chart.

"Nintendo systems and software represented 56 per cent of the industry total shares in April, indicating continued strong consumer preference for quality and value," said Cammie Dunaway, Nintendo of America's executive VP of sales & marketing.

"Looking ahead, we are excited to introduce active-play games like Punch-Out!! and Wii Sports Resort into the market," she added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now