Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

NPD: PS3 price cut to boost sales by 40 - 60 per cent

Mon 24 Aug 2009 7:28am GMT / 3:28am EDT / 12:28am PDT
Retail

Surge in sales expected this September following new USD 299 / EUR 299 price point

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

The NPD Group has said that the price cut on Sony's PlayStation 3 could boost sales of the system by up to 60 per cent in September.

Sony slashed USD 100 / EUR 100 off the price of the console last week, and unveiled a new model to hit the market next month.

"The USD 299 price point is important to getting to a point where the next segment of price-conscious consumers can jump into the market and it most certainly will re-energise sales of the platform," Anita Frazier of the NPD told InformationWeek.

"We would expect to see in the range of a 40 per to 60 per cent unit sales increase when September sales are reported."

Such a surge in sales may not be enough for the console to take the lead in the US however, with Frazer noting that other consoles are expected to receive a price cut in the near term.

"Content is still the key motivator of a hardware purchase decision. Other systems might too take a price cut, so there's a lot playing into which system tops sales any particular month," she said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now