Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

NPD: DS poised to break US hardware records

Fri 13 Nov 2009 8:08am GMT / 3:08am EST / 12:08am PST
HardwarePublishing

As life-to-date US sales of Wii hardware break 22 million units

Representatives from Nintendo of America have released an official response to October's NPD sales data, celebrating the Wii's return to the top of the hardware chart and speculating that its Nintendo DS portable may break a sales record in 2009.

According to Nintendo, the 507,000 October Wii sales brings the units life-to-date sales to over 22 million.

"Wii sales spiked more than 9.5 percent over September, a remarkable result, considering that September was a five-week reporting month for NPD, while October included just four weeks," said the firm.

The statement also says that the Nintendo DS is "poised to surpass the all-time single-year US hardware sales record," which was set in 2008 by the Wii with ten million units.

"Nintendo's year-to-date share of total game sales and total industry revenues are up over the same period last year," said Nintendo's Cammie Dunaway.

"We are very appreciative of the continued, strong consumer response to both of our systems as we head into the holidays, and are excited to bring to them our key games, like New Super Mario Bros. Wii, which launches this Sunday, and The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks, which launches December 7."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now