Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

No Wii price cut for UK

Wed 23 Sep 2009 2:29pm GMT / 10:29am EDT / 7:29am PDT
RetailHardwarePublishing

UPDATE: Retailers begin taking orders for Wii console, both Wii Sports titles and Wii MotionPlus bundle for GBP 199

Nintendo will not be cutting the price of Wii hardware in the UK - instead the firm will offer a new retail bundle with added software and the Wii MotionPlus peripheral.

The Wii will still retail for GBP 199 in the region, and come bundled with the new controller peripheral, a nunchuck, the original Wii Sports and its sequel Wii Sports Resort.

Retailers such as ShopTo.net have begun listing and taking orders for the new bundle, expected to arrive in less than two weeks.

A price cut in Japan and the US is expected to be announced during this week's Tokyo Game Show, with multiple leaked retail promotions pointing to a USD 199 price in North America.

Nintendo upped the trade price of the Wii in the UK recently, citing depreciation of the pound. The RRP of the console is GBP 199, but many retailers have lowered it to GBP 179.

Nintendo has told GamesIndustry.biz that "no announcement has been made" and talk of a new bundle is "rumour and speculation".

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now