Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

No Ubidays event this year

Thu 09 Apr 2009 10:25am GMT / 6:25am EDT / 3:25am PDT
Publishing

Ubisoft to focus on E3, TGS and GamesCom to showcase upcoming titles

French publisher Ubisoft has decided against holding its popular Ubidays event this year, instead focusing its marketing and press efforts on E3, GamesCom and the Tokyo Game Show.

For the past two year's Ubisoft has gathered the press and retail in Paris to showcase its portfolio of titles, offering hands-on and interview opportunities with developers and senior executives.

"With regards to Ubidays, with the E3 event in the US, the GamesCom in Europe and Tokyo Games Show in Japan, we think that we’ll have great outlets to present our creativity and innovation to a worldwide audience and will therefore reconsider our plans," said a spokesperson for Ubisoft.

"There won’t be a Ubidays this year," confirmed the company.

Ubidays were held in part due to the downsizing of E3, with Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot stating in 2007 that the company wanted to hold its own show for Europe

"E3 is now only for the US, so we wanted to do something to help everybody see our products," he said. "So we decided to do E3 but in France and call it Ubidays," he said at the time.

But with E3 promising to return to the glamour and glitz of old, and the GamesCom event promising a much more accessible venue for travelling media, publishers are returning to the convenience of mass-organised events.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now