Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

No games BAFTAs in 2008

Thu 17 Apr 2008 11:03am GMT / 7:03am EDT / 4:03am PDT
Events

Prestigious awards moves to early 2009 to allow for judging of full year's worth of games releases

BAFTA

BAFTA is the leading independent charity supporting, developing and promoting the art forms of the moving...

bafta.org

GamesIndustry.biz can reveal that the BAFTA Video Games Awards will not be taking place later this year, and have been pushed back to 2009 in order to facilitate a more effective judging process.

The prestigious awards will instead return on March 10, 2009, giving the judging panel a clear window in which to decide on games and products released during 2008, following difficulties last year with some titles that had to be judged before completion, and one title in the running for an award which in the end wasn't released in the 2007 calendar year.

The BAFTA Games Awards were also part of the London Games Festival last year, and took place just days before the long-running Golden Joystick awards, a clash potentially seen as confusing for consumers.

Last year's major BAFTA winners were BioShock, Wii Sports and Crackdown.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now