Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

No free-to-play model for Dungeons and Dragons Online in Europe

Wed 10 Jun 2009 10:18am GMT / 6:18am EDT / 3:18am PDT
OnlinePublishing

Codemasters says business will remain subscription-based in region

Codemasters

Taken from MobyGames.com:

Codemasters develops and publishes video games for Sony, Nintendo and Microsoft...

codemasters.com

While Turbine intends to turn MMORPG Dungeons & Dragons Online into a free-to-play title in the US, there are no current plans to do the same in Europe, according to regional publisher Codemasters.

A digital upgrade for the game titled Dungeons & Dragons Online: Eberron Unlimited will go live this summer in North America, allowing new users to play for free and purchase content via micro-transactions.

"To clarify, for the time being, DDO Europe will not be assuming this new business model and the European DDO game service will remain a monthly subscription-based game with all new content created available to all subscribers, as has been the model up until now," said Codemasters in a statement.

"As the beta progresses we will release more information regarding the future plans for EU players," added the publisher.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now