Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo wins appeal on patent ruling

Wed 14 Apr 2010 7:58am GMT / 3:58am EDT / 12:58am PDT
Hardware

Jury overturns previous decision against Wii company involving Anascape complaint

Nintendo has won a long-running battle with Anascape over its complaint that the Wii manufacturer infringed its patent in the construction of the console's Classic Controller.

The case was originally heard in East Texas in May 2008 and ruled that while the Wii Remote and Nunchuk didn't infringe on US patent 6,906,700, the Classic Controller did - and while Nintendo was subsequently banned from selling the peripheral in the US, the company immediately appealed, ensuring that it could remain in the shops until the appeal was resolved.

But now a fresh jury has upheld the appeal by Nintendo and thrown out claims that the Classic Controller infringed that patent - despite both Sony and Microsoft settling with Anascape on the same subject in 2004 and 2008 respectively.

"Today the Federal Circuit's ruling confirmed that none of Nintendo's controllers infringe," said Nintendo of America general counsel Rick Flamm. "We appreciate that our position has been vindicated."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now