Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Nintendo unveils 2008 European console sales figures

Fri 07 Nov 2008 2:14pm GMT / 9:14am EST / 6:14am PST
Retail

Wii leads the pack with a total sale of 10.4 million units, followed by the PS3 and Xbox 360 respectively.

Nintendo has released the 2008 sales figures for handheld and home consoles in Europe during its financial results briefing.

The Wii was revealed as the top seller, shifting over 10.4 million units in the region, followed by Sony's PlayStation 3 and, in last place, Microsoft's Xbox 360. The Wii hit its peak in April with nearly 180,000 units sold, compared to its rivals sales of around 90,000 each.

However, the data did suggest that the recent price cut on the Xbox 360 improved sales, with Microsoft selling over 60,000 units in October, topping the PS3.

Nintendo led the race in handhelds sales too, revealing data that showed the DS took a significant lead over the PlayStation Portable for the entirety of the year, peaking in July with around 225,000 unit sales compared to the PSP's peak of just over 50,000 units during the same period.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now