Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Nintendo tops fiscal 2007 Japan numbers

Thu 03 Apr 2008 10:26am GMT / 6:26am EDT / 3:26am PDT
Retail

Famitsu releases financial year numbers for hardware and best-selling software sales - market grows 3.8% year-on-year

That the 2007 fiscal year was a good year for Nintendo is almost without question, so the results of the sales numbers for hardware platforms and the top five-selling software titles in Japan for the 12 months to March 30, 2008 comes as no surprise.

The best-selling platform was the Nintendo DS, selling over 6.3 million units, followed by the Nintendo Wii on 3.74 million units, according to Famitsu.

The PlayStation Portable was next in line with 3.4 million units sold, while the PlaytStation 3 shifted 1.2 million and the Xbox 360 just over 235,000.

Meanwhile on the software side, the top five games were all for Nintendo platforms, with Wii Fit top, selling 1.76 million copies, Mario Party DS in second with 1.66 million copies and Wii Sports in third selling 1.62 million units.

Super Smash Bros Brawl was fourth, selling 1.55 million copies, with Pokemon Mystery Dungeon selling 1.35 million copies.

In a comparison of the Japanese market from fiscal 2006 to fiscal 2007, combined hardware and software sales showed a 3.8 per cent increase to JPY 677 billion (USD 6.59 billion / EUR 4.23 billion).

Hardware sales ranking (note that the PlayStation 2 was not included):

  • 1. Nintendo DS: 6,343,547
  • 2. Nintendo Wii: 3,741,946
  • 3. PlayStation Portable: 3,427,971
  • 4. PlayStation 3: 1,197,418
  • 5. Xbox 360: 235,318

Software sales ranking:

  • 1. Wii Fit: 1,762,193
  • 2. Mario Party DS: 1,659,315
  • 3. Wii Sports: 1,616,377
  • 4. Super Smash Bros Brawl: 1,554,852
  • 5. Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: 1,354,447

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now