Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo sues Nyko over Wii nunchuk controller

Fri 13 Jun 2008 12:22am GMT / 8:22pm EDT / 5:22pm PDT
Business

Nintendo alleges peripheral copies patented design and infringes upon trademark

Nintendo has filed a lawsuit against peripherals manufacturer Nyko over its wireless Kama Nunchuk controller for the Wii.

According to a Bloomberg report, this is the first time that Nintendo has sued over a Wii accessory.

Nintendo's complaint alleges that Nyko's controller "wholly appropriates the novel shape, design, overall appearance and even the color and materials used in the Nintendo Nunchuk controller."

"While Nintendo supports the creation of innovative games and products used with our game systems, we cannot allow third parties to infringe our intellectual property rights,'' said Denise Kaigler, a VP with Nintendo of America.

"We have not knowingly violated anyone's intellectual property and we're still examining this,'' Nyko spokesman CC Swiney told Bloomberg.

The case was filed in the US District Court for the Western District of Washington (Seattle).

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now