Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo sponsors new Five quiz show

Thu 02 Jul 2009 11:39am GMT / 7:39am EDT / 4:39am PDT
Advertising

But reports of £2m spend are "pure guesswork," says company

Nintendo is sponsoring Five's Britain's Best Brain – a new quiz show for UK TV.

The company will benefit from sponsorship credits around the show in an advertiser-funded programming deal, brokered by Tiger Aspect Productions and Mediaedge:cia (MEC).

"We’re really excited to be working with Tiger Aspect, GroupM and Five on this ambitious new show and stepping into the realm of AFP for the first time," said James Honeywell, senior product manager for Nintendo.

A report by retail weekly MCV suggested that the deal has cost Nintendo GBP 2 million, but the company has told GamesIndustry.biz that the figure is "pure guesswork" by the paper.

"No figures have been disclosed so that is pure guesswork on their part. [We have] no idea where they got it from," said a spokesperson for the company.

Head of programming at MEC, Chantal Rutherford Browne, said that Nintendo now has an opportunity to closely associate its products with the TV channel

"This television concept is a fantastic opportunity for Nintendo to bring their games heritage to life. I had been on the lookout for Nintendo for some months and already had preliminary negotiations with Five when the idea of Britain’s Best Brain came along via Tiger Aspect."

"The AFP allows Nintendo to align themselves with a particularly appropriate television series, forging a relationship between the TV channel and the brand that is truly symbiotic."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now