Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo sells 6 million Wii, 20 million DS units in Europe

Thu 24 Jan 2008 10:29am GMT / 5:29am EST / 2:29am PST

Nintendo Europe has revealed sales of the Wii and DS in the region have reached over six million and 20 million units, respectively.

Nintendo Europe has revealed sales of the Wii and DS in the region have reached over six million and 20 million units, respectively.

First-party software sales in the region have also reached impressive figures, with four Wii titles sailing past one million units sold.

Wii Play has sold 2.3 million units, The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess 1.3 million units, Mario Party 8 one million units and Super Mario Galaxy 1.3 million units.

Dr Kawashima's Brain Training; How Old is Your Brain? has now sold over 5 million units in Europe, while its sequel More Brain Training has clocked up 2.8 million units. However, the top-seller is the Nintendogs series, which has sold over 8 million units in the region.

New titles for Europe in 2008 include Wii Fit, Super Smash Bros. Brawl and Mario Kart Wii, and Professor Kageyama's Maths Training: The Hundred Cell Calculation Method for the DS.

Earlier today, Nintendo announced nine month profits to December 31 of JPY 258.93 billion (USD 2.43bn/EUR 1.66bn), almost double that of the year previously.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now