Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo responds to GameCube-Wii title pricing

Wed 21 Jan 2009 8:53am GMT / 3:53am EST / 12:53am PST

Wii manufacturer estimates likely price point to be 29.99, not 39.99

Nintendo has explained to Eurogamer that Wii remakes of GameCube games will not be full price as retailers suggested yesterday.

"Nintendo do not set prices," said a spokesperson for the company. "It is up to retailers at what price they sell any item for."

"However, our trade price for these games will be below our usual trade price for Wii games and our present estimate of the likely retail price is in the region of GBP 29.99."

The New Control Play! brand takes top performers from the GameCube catalogue and converts them to Wii, adding motion sensing controls and various other improvements.

Pikmin is the first to be given the treatment and will arrive on shelves from 6th February. Mario Power Tennis will follow on 6th March, and Nintendo already has Pikmin 2 and Donkey Kong Jungle Beat in the pipeline.

1 Comment

Jim Webb Executive Editor/Community Director, E-mpire Ltd. Co.

2,287 2,507 1.1
That's better.

I think they could still be lower but that's certainly better than full price.

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now