Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Nintendo Points to be non-transferable

Wed 08 Oct 2008 7:21am GMT / 3:21am EDT / 12:21am PDT
Retail

Credits for the digital stores will have to be dedicated to either the DSi or Wii and cannot be shared between the two

Nintendo has revealed that each Nintendo Points card, recently announced alongside the Nintendo DSi, for its digital distribution shop can be used for either the handheld or the Wii and cannot be split between both, according to Siliconera.

At a recent Japanese press conference, Nintendo renamed Wii Points to Nintendo Points because they could also be spent in the DSi store.

The points cards come in 1000, 3000 and 5000 points amounts, with the premium titles for DS costing 200, 500 or 800, however once used on one of the consoles they cannot be used on the other, meaning each card has to be dedicated to the DSi or Wii shop.

It is believed that the reason behind this is that customer shopping information for the Wii isn't stored online but rather on the console itself and without an account system in place there is no way that consumers could share unspent DSi points with their Wii.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now