Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo patent infringement suit dismissed

Fri 12 Jun 2009 7:26am GMT / 3:26am EDT / 12:26am PDT
Publishing

Case over a parental control patent by Guardian Media Technologies dismissed by LA District Court

A patent infringement lawsuit brought against Nintendo over parental control technology has been dismissed.

According to a statement issued by Nintendo, Judge Manuel Real of the US District Court of Los Angeles granted Nintendo's motion for summary judgment of non-infringement on June 8.

"We are very pleased with the Court's decision," said Nintendo of America senior vice president of legal and general counsel Rick Flamm.

"Nintendo vigorously defends patent lawsuits. At the earliest stages of this case, Nintendo convinced the Court to dismiss this case as Guardian's patent had nothing to do with Nintendo's products."

The patent in question - US Patent 4,930,158, "Selective video playing system" - was filed by Guardian Media in 1988. It is essentially technology created for the sake of parental control, allowing a user to block objectionable content from being accessible.

Guardian's case against Nintendo is part of a larger suit against several companies that employ similar tech.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now