Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo confirms theft of DS Lite shipment

Mon 19 Jun 2006 12:06pm GMT / 8:06am EDT / 5:06am PDT

With just days to go before the DS Lite launches in Europe, Nintendo has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that a shipment of units bound for the UK has been stolen.

With just days to go before the DS Lite launches in Europe, Nintendo has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that a shipment of units bound for the UK has been stolen.

Rumours of the theft began to emerge last week, with some reports claiming that the shipment was worth GBP 1.26 million (EURO 1.84 million).

Nintendo declined to confirm figures, however, simply stating: "A number of White DS Lite made for the UK market were stolen in Hong Kong."

"Nintendo is making every effort to ensure that there is enough product available in the UK to meet market demand at launch."

The DS Lite is due to launch in Europe on June 23rd, priced at GBP 99.99 / EURO 149.99. The redesigned handheld has already proved to be a huge seller in Japan, and in the US - where more than 135,000 units were shifted in the two days following launch.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now