Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo claims 80% of female console market

Fri 27 Nov 2009 9:54am GMT / 4:54am EST / 1:54am PST
Publishing

"This didn't happen by accident," says Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime

The Wii has a total of 80 per cent of the female home console "primary players" market in the US, according to statistics revealed by Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime.

Speaking at a BMO Capital Markets event, as reported by blog site Kotaku, Fils-Aime claimed that the Xbox 360 had only 11 per cent of the female market and the PlayStation 3 just 9 per cent. The figures do not include portable consoles or personal computers.

Fils-Aime quoted figures putting the total number of female home console primary players (i.e. those that are the main users of the console) in the US at 11.7 million, compared to 33.3 million men.

These figures suggest that there are a total of 9.36 million female primary players on the Wii, with 1.29 million on the Xbox 360 and 1.05 million on the PlayStation 3.

"This didn't happen by accident," Fils-Aime is quoted as saying. "It's the result of a deliberate attempt to expand the market."

2 Comments

"Nintendo claims 99% of shovelware" would have had more sense.

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Jim Webb Executive Editor/Community Director, E-mpire Ltd. Co.

2,287 2,507 1.1
I guess people quickly forget that every leading consoles claims the majority of shovelware.
The PS2 actually put out more shovelware on a monthly basis than the Wii has.


11.7 million female primary players compared to 33.3 million men. Now that is surprising. I wouldn't have guessed it to be that close.

Posted:5 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now