Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo addresses Wii storage complaints

Thu 02 Oct 2008 5:59am GMT / 1:59am EDT / 10:59pm PDT
Hardware

Wii software to be downloaded directly to SD cards from next year

Nintendo president Satoru Iwata has said that the company is set to tackle complaints about poor storage options on the Wii console.

From spring 2009, Japanese consumers will be able to download software directly to an SD card, via the Wii Shopping Channel.

"We have to address the console's insufficient memory storage," said Iwata during the company's Autumn press conference, reports Kotaku.

The company has been heavily criticised for a lack of space for downloadable content on the Wii, such as WiiWare games, Virtual Console titles and individual game channels.

Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime said in July the company was looking at the problem with "a sense of urgency".

During the conference today, Nintendo unveiled the new DSi console, due to go on sale in Japan November 1.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now