Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

NHN enters European MMO space

Mon 20 Jul 2009 10:34am GMT / 6:34am EDT / 3:34am PDT
BusinessOnlinePublishing

Korean internet giant to open up portfolio following Japan, China and US launches

Korean internet giant NHN will be launching in Europe and plans to release its portfolio of MMO titles in the region, GamesIndustry.biz can reveal.

The company, one of the most successful online companies in Korea, will follow up moves from other business - such as NCsoft and Nexon - in establishing a foothold in the region for its free-to-play titles.

The move follows previous launches in Japan, China and the US, and will allow the company to bring several of its products to the region as it sees fit in due course.

"Europe has tremendous growth potential that is too often overlooked by international MMO publishers," said Dongmin Lee, head of overseas game business development. "We understand the opportunities the European market presents, and by meeting the unique requirements of European gamers, we believe we can offer them an outstanding service."

Among its product portfolio is the most successful games portal in Korea - Hangame - as well as the leading search portal in the country as well, Naver.

No announcements have yet been made regarding which games are planned for the region, but the company will be attending both Games Convention Online and gamescom, so news may not be far away.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now