Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nexon Europe showing strong business growth

Wed 09 Sep 2009 8:52am GMT / 4:52am EDT / 1:52am PDT
Business

MapleStory and Combat Arms propel revenue to 168% increase year-on-year

Nexon

- Specialized in developing, publishing and servicing online games

- Games in service: 17 unique games...

company.nexon.com/en...

Nexon Europe, the company responsible for publishing MapleStory and Combat Arms - as well as running the Nexon Europe web portal - has experienced strong growth since it was founded in March 2007, with May and June this year showing revenue increases of 168 per cent over the same period last year.

A document shown to GamesIndustry.biz outlines the popularity of the free-to-play titles, with MapleStory boasting 1.2 million active users and Combat Arms - only launched this year - over 800,000.

The average monthly growth year-on-year for the first half of 2009 was 105 per cent, and while revenue grew by 63 per cent for the first quarter, that number jumped to 146 per cent for the second quarter.

According to the company, revenue for the first half of 2009 has already exceeded the total revenue numbers for the whole of 2008.

Nexon Europe is part of the Nexon Corporation, based in Korea, which has seen its products gather huge audiences both there and in the US.

An interview with the company's CEO, Joonmo Kwon, in the build-up to his appearance at last year's GC Asia is also available.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now