Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Nexon America revenue grows 36% in Q3

Fri 16 Oct 2009 8:20am GMT / 4:20am EDT / 1:20am PDT
BusinessFinancePublishing

MapleStory publisher claims it's "on the right track" following consistent sales rises

Nexon America has reported a 36 per cent increase in revenue for the third quarter following strong sales throughout the summer.

In July revenues for the free-to-play games publisher grew 35 per cent compared to last year. August saw a rise of 32 per cent and September 44 per cent. The increases were experienced despite an absence of new titles from the publisher, which hasn't released a game since Combat Arms over a year ago.

"Increasing our revenues without having added any new games to the company's portfolio for more than a year tells me that we are on the right track," said Nexon America's CEO, Daniel Kim.

"Dungeon Fighter Online is just ramping up, so no revenues generated by that game are reflected in the outstanding third quarter we've had.

"It's a testament to the quality and accessibility of our free-to-play games and the amount of new content we have been delivering to our customers," he added. "Our hard work has earned us a level of loyalty among our player base that cannot be matched.

Kim attributed the vast amount of its revenue gains to in-games sales from MapleStory, Combat Arms and Mabinogi. Last week the company opened an item shop for Dungeon Fighter, while it is also currently preparing to beta test its forthcoming BlockParty.com game and social network site hybrid.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now