Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

New studio Runaway plans "meaningful" Facebook games

Thu 08 Apr 2010 8:03am GMT / 4:03am EDT / 1:03am PDT
CasualDevelopment

New Zealand documentary film-making company establishes new social network developer

Documentary film-making company NHNZ has announced the formation of a new video game development division called Runaway - and its first game Flutter.

Based in New Zealand, Runaway was founded in 2009 and intends to create and self-publish "meaningful online games for social networks".

The studio's first game is entitled Flutter and allows users to explore the Amazon Rainforest as a butterfly, nurturing the ecosystem and building a collection of insects.

The game will be supported by new bi-monthly chapters introducing new species, plants, decorations, challenges and story elements.

"Our team is dedicated to creating stand-out social game experiences," said Runaway director Tim Nixon.

"We've put a lot of time into crafting a world and style that will not only appeal to mass audiences, but give a sense of purpose and meaning to their play through the games attachment to an incredible real world environment that is under a very real threat."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now