Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

New PEGI symbols revealed

Wed 17 Jun 2009 7:32am GMT / 3:32am EDT / 12:32am PDT
Politics

Final designs different from traffic light proposals of last year; also include a PEGI OK symbol for online titles

PEGI has unveiled its newly designed age rating and classification symbols for videogames released in Europe.

The five age ratings are for 3, 7, 12, 16 and 18 years and are shaded from green through to orange and red. However, they differ from the circular traffic light symbols first proposed last year.

The PEGI symbols will be backed up by the descriptor symbols already in place, which depict Bad Language, Discrimination, Gambling, Drugs, Fear, Sex, Violence and Online Gameplay.

Online games can also apply for a PEGI OK label which indicates the content would not be rated any higher than 3+ and can safely be played by all age groups.

PEGI also intends to include extended consumer advice highlighting “extreme violence, criminal techniques, glamorisation of crime, strong language, comic violence, nudity and unrealistic violence,” according to the official PEGI website.

Yesterday, the UK government backed PEGI as the sole ratings standard for the region, with the Video Standards Council set to enforce and manage classification in the UK.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now