Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

New patent lawsuit targets Nintendo

Thu 15 Apr 2010 8:13am GMT / 4:13am EDT / 1:13am PDT
Hardware

US exercise company sues console maker over Wii and peripherals

Nintendo has become the subject of yet another patent lawsuit, with a US exercise company claiming it has infringed on two separate patents.

In a filing obtained by website Gamasutra company IA Labs (aka Powergrid Fitness) claims patent infringements relating to essentially all of Nintendo's current generation home console hardware, including the Wii, Wii Balance Board, Wii Wheel and Wii MotionPlus.

The patents describe a "computer interactive isometric exercise system and method for operatively interconnecting the exercise system to a computer system for use as a peripheral" and a "force measurement system for an isometric exercise device."

IA Labs claims to have been in discussion with Nintendo from as early as 2007 over the patents, and initially attempted to license out its technology, which has won awards at two separate CES appearances.

Although this lawsuit appears less frivolous than some, Nintendo has a strong track record in defending against such claims. Only this week the company saw victory in a long-running complaint over the Wii's Classic Controller.

1 Comment

Kingman Cheng Illustrator and Animator

956 184 0.2
"patent infringements relating to essentially all of Nintendo's current generation home console hardware, including the Wii, Wii Balance Board, Wii Wheel and Wii MotionPlus."

I find this difficult to be believe to be honest. I find it very unlikely they infringed so much from a single company.

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now