Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

New multimedia DS due from Nintendo this year - report

Mon 29 Sep 2008 5:41am GMT / 1:41am EDT / 10:41pm PDT
Hardware

Built-in camera, improved Wi-Fi, music playback and more for remodelled handheld

Nintendo is to launch a new iteration of the DS handheld this year, with a focus on increased multimedia capabilities.

That's according to a report by Nikkei Net, detailed by Reuters, which states the new handheld will feature a built-in camera, music playback, improved wireless functions and larger screens.

The report suggests the machine will be priced below JPY 20,000 – the DS Lite currently sells in the region for around JPY 16,800, and is expected to be released in Japan before the end of the year.

Although Nintendo has so far remained quiet on a talk of a new DS, the company is due to hold a press conference on October 2 this week.

Nintendo has said that sales of the DS in Japan have slowed down, but remain strong in Europe and the US.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now