Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

New instruments, local bands for Guitar Hero

Tue 22 Apr 2008 12:41am GMT / 8:41pm EDT / 5:41pm PDT
Publishing

Activision's Bobby Kotick says that upcoming Guitar Hero titles will feature additional instruments and local bands

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

In an interview with Conde Nast Portfolio, Activision CEO Bobby Kotick says that upcoming iterations of Guitar Hero will include additional instruments.

"It's not just about guitars," Kotick said. "We'll include a lot of other instruments, vocals."

Kotick also indicated a means of helping to market the game to an international audience: "It's the first game we've had in which we can use local content and local bands," he said.

When asked about the merger with Vivendi, Activision's CEO noted the benefit for the Guitar Hero franchise of having access to Universal Music Group's library. He also spoke of the music game's wide appeal.

"The artist's relevance and importance to 17-year olds change in a way that you could never get in any other medium," he said.

"Forty per cent of [Guitar Hero] users are women. The age appeal is something we've never seen before: 7 year-olds who have no idea who Aerosmith is are playing the band's music on Guitar Hero. So are 45-year olds who spent a good portion of their lives following the band around."

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith is currently scheduled for a June release.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now