Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Neversoft passes over Tony Hawk franchise

Mon 12 Jan 2009 10:34am GMT / 5:34am EST / 2:34am PST
Development

"It's time for someone else to add fresh ideas to it," says company founder

Neversoft

Famous for being the talent behind the Tony Hawk's Underground franchise and other successful games....

neversoft.com

Neversoft boss Joel Jewett has said that the developer has moved away from the Tony Hawk franchise, the series that cemented the studio as one of the jewels in publisher Activision's crown.

The team is now concentrating on the Guitar Hero franchise, and is already on its third title in the series so far.

"It's probably best for the franchise," said Jewett of the Tony Hawk games, speaking to the Great Falls Tribune. "It's time for someone else to add fresh ideas to it."

Although the next Tony Hawk title is still under wraps, it's thought that the game will ship with a dedicated skateboard peripheral, and be named Tony Hawk's Adrenaline.

Start-up developer Robomodo is rumoured to be working on the game, after signing with Activision to work on one of the publisher's big franchises.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now