Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nearly 100,000 SingStar videos uploaded

Wed 08 Apr 2009 7:15am GMT / 3:15am EDT / 12:15am PDT

Series director, Dave Ranyard, says to expect new gameplay features later this year

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

SingStar players have uploaded over 96,000 videos to the game's community pages using PlayStation Network.

Altogether those videos have been viewed over 10.7 million times, and nearly 160,000 pieces of content, including photos, have been uploaded in total, Sony told Eurogamer.

The company also offered a glimpse into the popularity of downloadable content, revealing that total downloads for the week ending 3rd April were over 10,000.

The most popular song download in the UK was "Run" by Leona Lewis. See below for a full top ten countdown.

SingStar has been available on PlayStation 3 since the end of 2007 in Europe, where Sony recently launched wireless microphones for GBP 34.99.

According to series director Dave Ranyard, speaking to Eurogamer, London Studio is likely to reveal new gameplay features later this year. Support for voice controls should launch as soon as this month - as part of SingStar Vol. 4 and as a free download via PSN.

The UK's top ten SingStar downloads for last week follows:

  • 01. Leona Lewis - "Run"
  • 02. Queen - "Bohemian Rhapsody"
  • 03. The Ting Tings - "That's Not My Name"
  • 04. Dizzee Rascal feat. Calvin Harris - "Dance Wiv Me"
  • 05. Vanilla Ice - "Ice Ice Baby"
  • 06. Billy Joel - "Tell Her About It"
  • 07. Phyllis Nelson - "Move Closer"
  • 08. Outkast - "Roses"
  • 09. Elvis Presley - "Suspicious Minds"
  • 10. P!nk - "Just Like A Pill"

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now