Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

NCsoft pulls out of ESA

By James Lee

Mon 08 Dec 2008 4:01pm GMT / 11:01am EST / 8:01am PST

Trade body confirms the MMO publisher's departure following spate of defections


NCsoft is a leading developer and publisher of online games.

A gaming powerhouse with a global reach,...

NCsoft, the MMO developer and publisher, has pulled out of the US publishers' organisation, the Entertainment Software Association.

This represents the latest in a slew of defections from the organisation, including Activision and LucasArts.

"We can confirm that NCsoft decided not to renew its ESA membership," ESA's senior VP Rich Taylor told GamePolitics. "We respect their decision and remain committed to serving the public affairs needs of the computer and video game industry."

Last month, NCsoft announced it was closing down the servers to Richard Garriott's ailing MMO Tabula Rasa, after the company's net income dropped 50 per cent.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now