Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

NCsoft experiences 11-fold profit increase in Q4

Thu 11 Feb 2010 8:46am GMT / 3:46am EST / 12:46am PST
FinanceDevelopment

Solid performance of Aion overseas contributes to quarterly success

NCsoft

NCsoft is a leading developer and publisher of online games.

A gaming powerhouse with a global reach,...

ncsoft.net

NCsoft's net income soared in the fourth quarter of 2009, increasing 1009 per cent on last year.

According to the South Korean company's latest results, net income grew to KRW 71.22bn ($61.5m / 39.3m) for the three months ending December 30, compared with KRW 6.42bn ($5.5m / 3.5m) a year ago.

Sales almost doubled year-on-year, from KRW 87.32bn ($75.4m / 48.2m) to KRW 197.28bn ($170.4m / 108.9m).

The quarter had seen record high earnings achieved through "a revitalised Lineage and solid Aion", said the company. It marked the fifth consecutive quarterly rise in net profit.

Aion was released in South Korea at the end of 2008 and in North America and Europe in September last year. Following its release in the West, NCsoft saw European sales increase from 3 per cent of its total sales in Q4 2008, to 12 per cent in the latest quarter.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now