Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

NC West cuts down European office

Wed 11 Feb 2009 1:06pm GMT / 8:06am EST / 5:06am PST
BusinessOnlinePublishing

UPDATE: 30 to remain on staff as five departments are axed; sales, marketing and customer support to survive cull

NCsoft

NCsoft is a leading developer and publisher of online games.

A gaming powerhouse with a global reach,...

ncsoft.net

NCsoft has made 55 staff redundant at the Brighton office of NC West, as five internal departments are axed, following a similar cull last year when in-house development was halted.

GamesIndustry.biz understands that 30 staff will remain at the Brighton office to cover off sales, marketing and customer support functions, while localisation, creative services, IT, QA and community roles have been cut.

NCsoft Europe exec Geoff Heath has so far declined to comment.

The formation of NC West was announced last September in a bid to make the company's activities outside of Korea more profitable under one banner, and combined the US and European activities in a single entity.

Around 70 posts were lost then as the impact of failed Richard Garriott MMO Tabula Rasa hit the company's profits significantly.

It is not yet known if NC West in North America is affected by similar cuts to headcount.

UPDATE: More precise numbers have now been added to the story, as well as details on which departments have been axed. It was originally reported that around 70 jobs had been lost.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now