Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

NBA Jam creator joins EA Sports

Fri 08 Jan 2010 8:46am GMT / 3:46am EST / 12:46am PST
PeopleDevelopment

Turmell, creator of arcade sports and iconic Smash TV brand, joins EA Tiburon

The creator of NBA Jam, Smash TV and NFL Blitz, Mark Turmell, has joined EA Sports as senior creative director, the company has announced.

The appointment follows rumours that EA has picked up the rights to arcade favourite NBA Jam, although Turmell says on the official EA Sports blog that he's looking forward to working on the market-leading Madden and NCAA franchises.

"I have long marvelled at EA and their ability to ship quality games on a yearly schedule," said Turmell. "That's incredibly hard. And I've also marvelled at how EA management or marketing has understood their consumer and then targeted them with appropriate content.

"I'm a huge sports fan, love making videogames, and trust that this senior management team will navigate the very difficult and challenging waters of game development as we move forward in this rapidly changing business."

Turmell will be based at EA Tiburon working inside the Central Gameplay Group.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now