Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

NBA 2K9 reaches 2 million sales worldwide

Thu 02 Jul 2009 1:40pm GMT / 9:40am EDT / 6:40am PDT
Retail

2K Sports coincides the milestone with a limited edition NBA 2K9: Anniversary Edition announcement

2K Sports has shifted two million units worldwide of its most recent NBA title, NBA 2K9, according to sales figures released by the publisher today.

2K9, the most recent title in the 2K basketball series, was released onto PS3, Xbox 360 and PS2 platforms in October last year. A sequel - NBA 2K10 - had already been announced for multiple platforms, including Wii, later this year, but 2K also announced today the release of NBA 2K10: Anniversary Edition for PS3 and Xbox 360.

The limited edition title will be restricted to 30,000 copies and is to come in special packaging with exclusive in-game items, a special commemorative video celebrating ten years of NBA 2K and access to a special VIP 'Gold Room' over Xbox Live and PlayStation Network. It will be released, alongside NBA 2K10, in North America in the autumn

"NBA 2K is the premier basketball video game franchise for serious players, deeply rooted in rich and pure authenticity that real hoop heads get, which is why we've been the favourite NBA simulation for so long," said Greg Thomas, senior vice president of sports development for 2K. "We've always been very proud of how we engage our fans on a community level, and NBA 2K10: Anniversary Edition is our way of giving back to all those that have supported us along the way."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now