Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

NASA secures partners for MMO project

Fri 20 Feb 2009 10:35am GMT / 5:35am EST / 2:35am PST
Online

Unreal Engine 3 to be used for Astronaut: Moon, Mars and Beyond

NASA has secured it development partners for the forthcoming massively multiplayer online game Astronaut: Moon, Mars and Beyond.

Virtual Heroes, who have previously worked on America's Army, will join Project Whitecard and Information in Place on the Unreal Engine 3-driven title.

The project is designed as a learning tool, and is expected to stimulate learning at costs considerably less than regular internships.

"We want to create a fun, compelling gaming experience that will give players the chance to learn about science and engineering careers while they play the game," said Daniel Laughlin, project manager at NASA Learning Technologies, reports Yahoogames.

"NASA is committed to attracting more students to science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields of study and careers. We hope this game will inspire players to consider those careers."

Former NASA astronauts, scientists and engineers are involved with the project, which will also recreate spacecraft, technology and robotics based on NASA prototypes.

The game is due for release next year, with a demo set for the end of 2009.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now