Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Namco licenses Infernal Engine for cooking game

Fri 29 May 2009 7:15am GMT / 3:15am EDT / 12:15am PDT
Development

Terminal Reality's cross-platform middleware solution to be utilised on Food Network: Cook or Be Cooked

Terminal Reality

Terminal Reality, Inc.

Terminal Reality, founded by lead programmer/CEO Mark Randel in 1994, is one...

infernalengine.com

Terminal Reality has announced that Namco Bandai is the latest publisher to license its cross-platform Infernal Engine.

According to the company, the engine will be utilised by developer Red Fly Studios on the just-announced Food Network: Cook or Be Cooked.

"We are extremely pleased to be using Terminal Reality’s Infernal Engine for Food Network: Cook or Be Cooked as it is a full featured, unified environment for game development," said Namco Bandai executive producer Mike Morishita. "With rendering, special effects, scripting and audio tools ready to go, our team at Red Fly Studio was able to focus on what is truly important for the title - cooking up a storm."

The Infernal Engine is a cross-platform development solution that includes rendering, physics, particle effects, shaders, sound and AI tools. It is designed for simultaneous game development on the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and PC, and is scalable for the Wii, PlayStation 2 and PlayStation Portable. Though a target platform was not specifically announced for Food Network: Cook or Be Cooked, a statement from Terminal Reality regarding the announcement specifically mentions the Wii.

Developer Red Fly Studios is also using the Infernal Engine for the Wii version of Ghostbusters.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now