Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Mythos beta closes down

Mon 21 Jul 2008 11:35am GMT / 7:35am EDT / 4:35am PDT
OnlineDevelopment

MMO is currently on "hiatus" following the closure of Flagship studios

Following last week's announcement that Flagship Studios had made all staff redundant and closed down development, the beta test of its anticipated free MMO Mythos has gone offline.

The game's servers shut down late on Friday. Although it's officially only a "hiatus", the situation at the developer makes Mythos' future look very uncertain. There are reports that it will be picked up by Korea's HanbitSoft, which will develop it internally.

"Despite this bump in the road, I think we've succeeded wildly," said executive producer Max Shaefer in a post on the game's forums, just before they too were taken offline. "This is undoubtedly the best game community I've ever seen."

At the moment it's unknown what form Mythos will take if it ever re-emerges.

The future of Flagship's other game, Hellgate: London, also hangs in the balance. Flagship is no longer taking new subscribers for it, or billing existing ones, but the servers are still live at time of writing.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now