Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Mythic closes 63 Warhammer servers

Wed 11 Mar 2009 10:02am GMT / 6:02am EDT / 3:02am PDT
Online

43 North American and 20 European low-population servers to close

Mythic Entertainment

Formed in October 1995 by Rob Denton and Mark Jacobs, Mythic is most well known for Dark Age of Camelot....

mythicentertainment....

Mythic's MMO Warhammer Online is closing 63 low-population servers: 43 in the North American and Oceanic regions run by Mythic itself, and 20 of the European servers operated by GOA.

Mythic has been offering free transfers off these servers for some months now in a campaign of consolidation, after the game's player base fell from a high of 750,000 registered users immediately after launch to 300,000 subscribers early this year.

The final round of character transfers, which took place yesterday in the US and is currently underway in Europe, is automatic and compulsory. The "source" servers will be closed after completion.

Lists of the servers being closed, and the destinations for characters on those servers are available on the US and European WAR websites.

Healthy server populations are critical to any MMO, but especially one with the large-scale player-versus-player warfare dynamic of Warhammer Online.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now