Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Myst developer Cyan Worlds is back from the brink

Fri 30 Sep 2005 1:07pm GMT / 9:07am EDT / 6:07am PDT

Myst series developer Cyan Worlds has fought off the spectre of impending doom and rehired "almost everybody" according to studio boss Rand Miller.

Speaking to Dean Takahashi (whose blog post charts the story of the developer) Miller said, "We've had a reprieve. Managed to pull a rabbit out of the hat (that I can't give details about yet), so we rehired almost everybody. Crazy industry. It's giving me whiplash!"

Miller's since said similar things to other journalists, and composer Tim Larkin's gone on record in an interview with Music4Games with comments along the same lines.

Things may have been tough on Myst V, which was released here recently, but Larkin notes, "As far as Cyan, we're actually back at work, going in a bit of a new direction. Should be an interesting year... That's one of the great things as well as the pitfalls of this business; you just never know what's around the next corner."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now