Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

MySpace kick starts developer services programme

Thu 03 Jun 2010 9:57am GMT / 5:57am EDT / 2:57am PDT
Developer Tools

Social network site organises multiple developer discounts as new games focus gathers pace

Social networking website MySpace has announced a new developer services programme intended to provide developers with discounts and promotions related to MySpace development.

The programme includes a wide range of promotions from different companies, with Joyent offering one year of free hosting and computing resources on Joyent Cloud. The Joynet SmartMachine has also been optimised for MySpace applications.

Monetisation solutions provider PlaySpan is offering MySpace developers a limited-time 20 per cent discount on transactions for the first three months. Meanwhile, digital payments firm ClickandBuy is waving registration and monthly fees for MySpace developers.

Middleware company Scoreloop will allow mobile developer to link directly to MySpace via the Scoreloop Core Social SDK for Android and iPhone. Scoreloop is also running a promotion where the 10 best mobile social integrations will be rewarded with 1 million free ad impressions through the MySpace App.

Microsoft BizSpark has promised simplified enrolment for MySpace developers, while virtual goods monetisation platform Social Gold is offering a 20 per cent rebate for its services.

MySpace has become increasingly focused on game applications in recent months, following the launch of pilot programme MySpace Games Lab. In a recent interview with GamesIndustry.biz CEO Mike Jones indicated that games had become a priority for MySpace, following the success of games such as FarmVille on Facebook.

Further information on the MySpace developer services programme can be found at the official website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now