Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Movie studio Red Eagle reveals videogame ambitions

Wed 12 Nov 2008 3:12pm GMT / 10:12am EST / 7:12am PST
Business

Plans console games and an MMO based on Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time books

Movie studio Red Eagle Entertainment is to move into videogame production, with plans for titles based on Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time books.

With a movie based on the first novel The Eye of the World in production, Red Eagle intends to deliver games based on every film it releases – and there are also plans to spin-off the franchise for a massively multiplayer online game, according to VentureBeat.

"We've got a huge running start with this property," commented Rick Selvage of Red Eagle.

"We expect to have a game based on every movie, and we expect no less than three movies, though that depends on how well each does."

Games will be launched at the same time as the movies are released, with Selvage suggesting that the company's game plans have been met with enthusiasm, according to the report.

Selvage was previously general manager of IBMs global media and entertainment business, and fellow producer at Red Eagle, Larry Mondragon, spent 20 years with IBM in attorney roles.

The company intends to make videogame hires in the next couple of months, and "wants to hire the rock stars," according to Selvage.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now