Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

MotorStorm: Pacific Rift passes one million sales

Tue 09 Dec 2008 12:02pm GMT / 7:02am EST / 4:02am PST
Retail

Evolution racer may not have charted high, but has sold solid numbers since November

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony's PlayStation 3 racer MotorStorm: Pacific Rift has sold over one million units worldwide, according to the company's Worldwide Studios boss Michael Denny.

The sequel to the popular PlayStation 3 launch title was released at the beginning of November, entering the charts at number 29 in the UK and then falling the following week to 35.

But despite the crowded release schedule during one of the busiest months at retail which kept it out of the top ten, the title has broken the one million milestone, and Evolution Studios is already at work on new downloadable content for the game.

"We're pleased with the high Metacritic rating of 82 per cent and it's sold over a million units worldwide," said Denny, in an interview published today.

The original MotorStorm became a flagship title for the console in its early months, and has since become part of Sony's budget Platinum range for PS3.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now